• Select your language
  • Čeština
  • English
  • Magyar
  • Other languages
  • © Atout France/Pierre Torset

    © Atout France/Pierre Torset

French Regions

The total surface of continental France amounts to 550.000 km². The country is divided into regions, which, in turn, are composed of several departments.


You get an idea of the diversity of the French regions if you consider that France

  • borders on an ocean and two different seas (not taking into account the overseas departments)
  • disposes of five vast mountain ranges (of which the highest peak is the impressive Mont Blanc with its 4810 m), 
  • is one of the top wine producing countries in the world with 870.000 ha of vineyards,
  • is full of interesting cities, towns and villages (of course including Paris, the capital of France, with its 2 million inhabitants)
  • and finally makes a continuous effort to preserve its natural reserves.


Cultural and climatic differences allow a classification of all French regions by cardinal directions:

  • Northern France: Nord-Pas-de-Calais, Normandy, Picardy
  • Eastern France: Alsace, Champagne, Franche-Comté, Lorraine, Rhône-Alpes
  • Western France: Aquitaine, Brittany, Pays de la Loire, Poitou-Charentes
  • Central France: Auvergne, Burgundy, Ile-de-France, Limousin, Loire Valley (Centre)
  • Southern France: French Riviera, Languedoc-Roussillon, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, Midi-Pyrenées


France's regions have much to offer - but each of them has its own distinctive character and particularities, which we would like to present in this section of our website. To get to know all the details about a region, simply click the picture of the region below: